ADSIS


Alternative Delivery of Specialized Instructional Services (ADSIS)


WHAT IS ADSIS? ADSIS is an intervention program in the middle and high schools started in 2015 through a grant from the Minnesota Department of Education.  With this grant, Pine Island was able to hire three licensed teachers and four paraprofessionals as well as purchase online curriculum and other materials.  ADSIS serves students who are below grade level standards in reading, math, and/or behavior.  ADSIS is a temporary safe haven for qualifying students to help them get back up to grade level standards without having to look at special education as a first alternative.  ADSIS works on the specified reading, math, and/or behavioral skills that a student is missing and fills in those gaps with intervention.

HOW DOES A STUDENT QUALIFY FOR ADSIS? Students are referred to ADSIS through inter-district problem solving committees which are based on teacher referrals. Potential ADSIS students must have shown a history of being below grade level in reading, math, and/or behavior.  There are no parent referrals to ADSIS. WHO ARE THE ADSIS STAFF?

ADSIS Coordinator Jill Petersen   jill.petersen@pineisland.k12.mn.us High School ADSIS Academic Staff TEACHER:  Monte Imming    mimming@pineisland.k12.mn.us PARAPROFESSIONAL:  Katie Lenn   klenn@pineisland.k12.mn.us

Middle School ADSIS Academic Staff TEACHER:  Shannon Kelley   skelley@pineisland.k12.mn.us PARAPROFESSIONAL:  Anita Hunskor ahunskor@pineisland.k12.mn.us

Middle/High School ADSIS Behavior Staff PARAPROFESSIONAL (HS): Heidi Jacquart heidi.jacquart@pineisland.k12.mn.us PARAPROFESSIONAL (MS): Kacy Mitchell kacy.mitchell@pineisland.k12.mn.us


HOW DOES ADSIS WORK? For the academic program, middle school students report to the ADSIS room during flex time while high school students report during their study hall.  While in ADSIS, students get intervention help in a multiple ways: in small groups, online using the Edgenuity curriculum, and one-to-one assistance.  ADSIS students can use the ADSIS room throughout the day to get additional help with homework, have tests read to them, use as a quiet place for test-taking, and see additional help with organization, tracking assignments, and any other needs that arise.  High school students get an elective credit for participating in ADSIS. For the behavior program, students meet with paraprofessionals at various times during the week, working on needed social/behavioral skills. The paraprofessionals also work with our Middle and High School Counselors to intervene with the students during times of crisis and work on building success with each individual.
WHAT CURRICULUM DOES ADSIS USE? For the academic program, the ADSIS students use an online program called Edgenuity (https://www.edgenuity.com/).  In addition, each teacher embeds other subject level research based interventions. For the behavior program, the ADSIS paraprofessionals use individualized research based interventions specific to the student’s needs. A research-based program called Check and Connect from the University of Minnesota (http://checkandconnect.umn.edu/) is used as well.
HOW LONG IS A STUDENT IN ADSIS? There is no set timeframe or date for how long a student is in ADSIS. Data is tracked and once a student is back to grade level in reading, math, and/or behavior, they are then graduated from the program. Students are typically exited from the program at natural breaks such as end of quarter/semester/year. If a parent wants a student exited from ADSIS, they need to contact the ADSIS coordinator to fill out the necessary paperwork.
Should you have any further questions please contact Jill Petersen, Student Support Services Coordinator, at 507-356-3210 or jill.petersen@pineisland.k12.mn.us


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.